The grace period for new car insurance in North Carolina is 2 to 30 days in most cases. Fortunately, you still have options if you're in a situation with expired car insurance coverage. There are ways to address the situation promptly after the expiration grace period for car insurance ends. Grace periods vary, but can range from 3 to 30 days.
Here's what to do when your insurance coverage expires. Every state, including North Carolina, has its own set of rules and penalties for drivers who get behind the wheel without car insurance. We'll explain what car insurance lapses are, what happens if car insurance is suspended, grace periods, and more. A lapse in your insurance coverage occurs when there is a period of time between when your vehicle is insured and when it isn't.
If your insurance company doesn't renew your policy, or if you have an expiration in coverage, your North Carolina insurer is required by law to notify the DMV. North Carolina's liability insurance law is strictly enforced and insurance companies must notify N.